Kundalini Yoga: Asanas, Poses & Sequences

Most students don’t know what to expect when they start a kundalini yoga class. Once they try it, they are often amazed by how this type of yoga awakens the consciousness’ energy. Moreover, it can really help them overcome self-imposed limitations. Below, you will find a short kundalini yoga guide, explaining its asanas (postures), poses, and sequences.

What Is Kundalini Yoga?

This yoga style is also called the “yoga of awareness.” Some refer to it as an awakening experience. It changes you. Unfortunately, most western countries associate yoga with tight pants, skinny girls, and a lot of stretching. Well, this is not the case when it comes to kundalini yoga.

While some yoga styles focus on the physical workout, others emphasize meditation and spirituality. Kundalini yoga combines these two aspects, activating your entire body’s flow and energy. The word “kundalini” comes from Sanskrit and it means “coiled snake.” It reminds us of the way we work the spine during these poses.

Asanas, Poses & Sequences

There are several kundalini yoga sequences, each of them focusing on certain issues such as detoxifying, boosting metabolism, clearing the chakras, etc. In this article, we will discuss the most common asanas that are included in most kundalini sequences.

Easy Pose –Sukasana

  1. Sit on the floor and cross your legs in a comfortable position.
  2. Keep both ankles on the ground and press your lower spine area forward. This way, you will maintain a straight back.

Perfect Pose – Siddhasana

This pose resembles the first one described above. The only difference is the way you must hold your legs.

  1. Press the right heel against your perineum, keeping it close to the left thigh.
  2. Make sure that your left heel is placed under the right leg.
  3. Tuck the toes between the thigh and the right calf.
  4. Both knees should remain on the floor.

While this pose may sound more complex, it is one of the most comfortable asanas and it promotes psychological power and tranquility.

Rock Pose – Vajrasana

  1. Kneel down on the floor while placing your bottom on your heels.
  2. The top part of the feet should remain pressed against the ground.
  3. This way, the nerves from the buttocks’ center will also be pressed.

This pose has the purpose of improving one’s digestive system.This is why it is called the rock pose, because, as the saying goes, one can digest rocks after doing this asana (although, we do not recommend you to eat rocks just to verify this expression).

Lotus Pose – Padmasana

  1. While sitting on the floor in the classic yoga lotus position, lift your left foot until it gets close to your upper right thigh.
  2. The next step is to place the left thigh under the right foot.
  3. Keep your feet and legs as close the torso as possible.

The lotus pose helps deep meditation. Your right leg should always be on top.

Celibate Pose – Hero

  1. Sit on your knees and place your buttocks on your heels.
  2. This kundalini yoga asana is quite similar to the rock pose.

However, during the celibate position, you must keep your hips wide apart one from the other. Also, you should sit between your feet. This is a great posture that channels your body energy all the way throughout the spine.

Check out this video by a popular instructor Victor Oddo. He explains the easiest Kundalini sequence that anyone can follow.

Final Words

Kundalini yoga provides instant inspiration and makes you step out of your comfort zone. This is where the real magic happens. This yoga style is full of surprises. A typical kundalini yoga class lasts up to 90 minutes. Make sure to drink plenty of water between asanas.